Azhdaya's Laire

Here to Learn & Share ~

Grimoire ~

Forum Home > Tell us a little bit about You! : ) > A Little About Spyrit Dancer

Spyrit Dancer

I have always felt "different" and felt more comfortable being alone in a field or forest then with a group of people.  I found I could feel energy as a teen, and would heal people's headaches. Having been raised with a traditional Christian upbringing, I never questioned that the gifts were from God. 

When I went to college, I took an anthropology course, and learned about the Yanomamo indians, who were found in 1929.  And I though, "the God of my understanding wouldn't damn generations of an entire race of people simply because they had not heard about the bible/Jesus/etc."  They also had a heirachy of "Gods" with a higher god and lower gods. 

This prompted a quest, and it was from a fiction book that I first heard the term Wicca.  It rang a cord, so I started studying and got a copy of the then new Sprial Dance by Starhawk.  And I had found my path.

I studied under a Lakota Shaman for awhile, and on a vision quest, was given my name Spyrit Dancer.  I was so excited, I ran to the roof of my building, threw back my head and called lightening which rolled across the sky so close, it knocked me to the roof of the building from the force of it. I have since not called lightening from the roof.

My teacher asked me if I knew what a spirit dancer was?  When I said no, he sighed.  "A spirit dancer is one who walks he line between the worlds of the living and the dead, and helps those on both sides.  It can be a difficult path".  He has been right, but it has brought many blessings too.  I have watched the spirit leave two different people, one my mother, when they died near me.  I've had dreams after people have passed on with messages to give others around me.